Durban Airport Information

King Shaka International Airport (IATA:DUR), also known as La Mercy Airport, was the international airport of Durban from 1951 until 2010, when it was replaced by King Shaka International Airport, 60 kilometres (37 mi) to the north. The airport is co-located with AFB Durban.

The airport was opened in 1951, replacing the Stamford Hill Aerodrome.The original name of the airport was Louis Botha International, named after the South African statesman.

Here are some of the major Airlines that service Durban International Airport:

  • 1Time
  • Air Mauritius
  • Airlink
  • British Airways
  • Emirates
  • Mango
  • South African Airways
  • South African Express

The above mentioned information is taken from: